A Party in the CDA

22 Jul

(Race report one of many; intended to be set to THIS…the karaoke version also exists)

I hopped on the beach in Idaho with a dream and my goggles on
Welcome to the Lake of Coeur d’Alene. (Whoa) Am I gonna get in?)
Jumped in the water, here I am for the first time,
Breathed to my right, and I don’t see a lane line!

This is all so crazy, everybody seems so nervous
My arms are turnin’ and I’m feeling hypothermic
Too many stressors and I’m anxious
That’s when I reached the land and hear “Go! Go!”

And a Survivor song was on
And a Survivor song was on
And a Survivor song was on

So I put my hands up, they’re playin’ my song
The butterfly (stroke’s) not okay
I’m noddin’ my head like “Blah”
Pickin’ up my kick like “Yeah”

Got my hands up, they’re playin’ my song
And now I’m gonna be okay
Yeah! It’s a party in the CDA!
Yeah! It’s a party in the CDA!

Get to the transition area in my swim cap
Everybody’s cheerin’ for me now
Like “Who’s that dude with the bad ass kick?
He’s probably a pro we’ll see around.”

So hard with my race support not around me
It’s definitely not a Chapel Thrill scene
‘Cause all I see are Cervelos
I guess I never got that much dough

My legs are turnin’ and it’s feeling kinda artic
Too cold of weather and I’m frantic
That’s when the temp went up and the sky was blue

And the cloud cover was gone
And the cloud cover was gone
And the cloud cover was gone

So I sped up, the clouds are gone
The sun was here to stay
I’m pedalin’ my legs like “Yeah”
Poppin’ in Clif Bars like “Yeah”

Got my pace up, I’m movin’ along
And now I’m gonna be okay
Yeah! It’s a party in the CDA!
Yeah! It’s a party in the CDA!

Feel like I’ve been moving all night
Want to slow down on the bike
Nothin’s stopping me any time
The transition area’s here again and I feel alright!

So I put my bike up, its way past noon
The jello thighs are here to stay
But I’m noddin’ my head like “Yeah”
Movin’ my legs like “Yeah”

Got my heels kickin’ up, gotta run a marathon
I know I’m gonna be okay
Yeah! It’s a party in the CDA!
Yeah! It’s a party in the CDA!

Leave a Reply

